Colorado Building Farmersupdated: October 2016

The Building Farmers in the West (BFW) program builds farm community and farmer capacity through classroom and experiential learning for beginning farmers and ranchers (USDA defines as 0 – 10 yrs experience). The classroom program is a series of evening classes designed to help New Farmers and Ranchers explore farming as a business and provide Intermediate and Experienced Farmers and Ranchers with tools and ideas to refine and enhance their business management, production, and marketing skills. The experiential learning program provides engaged mentorships and internships to beginning farmers and ranchers from experienced farmers and ranchers.

Local Program Coordinators

Adrian Card, Boulder County Extension, adrian.card@colostate.edu
Kurt Jones, Chaffee County Extension, kurt.jones@colostate.edu
Rusty Collins, Denver County Extension, rusty.collins@colostate.edu
Darrin Parmenter, LaPlata County Extension, darrin.parmenter@colostate.edu
Karen Crumbaker, Larimer County Extension, karen.crumbaker@colostate.edu
Yvette Henson, San Miguel County Extension, yvette.henson@colostate.edu
John Deering, Yuma County Extension, john.deering@colostate.edu


Contact Colorado Building Farmers


Contact Colorado Building Farmers

Project Director
Dawn Thilmany
9595 Nelson Road
Box B
Longmont, Colorado  80501-6359
Phone: (303) 678-6383
Fax: (303) 678-6281


 

Service Area

Statewide Program in:
  • Colorado

Office Locaters



To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator