Double El-Agate Conservation Districtupdated: November 2016
Both Conservation Districts have provided financial assistance to landowners to install conservation practices with Matching Grants funds awarded from the Colorado State Conservation Board and treat noxious weeds with grants funds from Colo Department of Agriculture.  Agate and Double El Conservation Districts are committed to helping landowners get conservation on the ground to conserve our natural resources and maintain sustainable agriculture in the area.  


Local Group organized to assist ranchers/farmers and other land users to accomplish their conservation goals now and for the future through educational, financial and technical assistance.

Double El Soil Conservation District was established in 1971 by a referendum to consolidate Big Sandy Soil Conservation District and Horse Rush Creek Soil Conservation Districts that were established in September 14, 1939.  The Double El Conservation District consists of portions of Elbert, El Paso and Lincoln Counties for approximately 631,590 acres. The Double El CD is governed by a board of 5 elected officials.  

The Double El CD is in the Upper Arkansas Watershed. Double El Conservation District has a very active tree program through the Colo State Forest Service.  They have an active partnership with El Paso and Elbert County to establish Living Snow Fences along county roads for public safety and protection from wind erosion. In 2002,


to provide information and assistance to land users in the wise use and conservation of our soil , water and other natural resources to achieve sustained agriculture production for current and future generations.

Agate Soil Erosion District was established August 26, 1940, and is now called Agate Conservation District. The district encompasses a portion of Elbert, Lincoln and Arapahoe Counties for approximately 352,807 acres. The majority of the land use is rangeland. The district has provided a heavy equipment land moving service for most of it’s existence.  

They partner with Elbert County to establish Living Snow Fences along county and state roads for public safety and protection from wind erosion. The Agate Conservation District is in the Upper South Platte Watershed.  The district is governed by a board of 5 elected officials.

Contact Double El-Agate Conservation District

Cheryl Churchwell
District Manager
P.O. Box 215
504 Washington
Simla, Colorado  80835
Phone: (719) 541-2359
Fax: (719) 541-3061


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • El Paso County, Colorado
  • Elbert County, Colorado
  • Lincoln County, Colorado

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator