Hughes County Conservation Districtupdated: August 2015

South Dakota's conservation districts coordinate assistance from all available resources—public and private, local, state, and federal—in an effort to develop locally led solutions to natural resource concerns. Organized over 75 years ago, each of the state's 69 districts is governed by a board of five supervisors who are elected by the public. They are similar to other local units of government such as school boards or counties.  In South Dakota, conservation districts are a sub-division of state government.

How do conservation districts benefit you?

  • They provide local conservation leadership, teach the value of natural resources and encourage conservation efforts.
  • They implement conservation practices that maintain the health of our air, land, water, plants and animals.
  • They conserve and restore wetlands that purify water and provide habitat for birds, fish and numerous other animals.
  • They protect groundwater resources that provide much of South Dakota's drinking water.
  • They plant trees and other land covers, and encourage others to do so, to prevent soil erosion, protect air quality, provide cover for wildlife and beautify neighborhoods.

Contact Hughes County Conservation District

Dillon Blaha
District Conservationist
1717 North Lincoln Avenue
Suite 103
Pierre, South Dakota  57501-7800
Phone: (605) 224-1694
Fax: (605) 224-6689


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Hughes County, South Dakota

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator