Jackson County Conservation Districtupdated: June 2012

Purpose and Mission
The purpose and mission of The Arkansas Association of Conservation Districts is to assist the conservation districts of the state of Arkansas in their efforts to serve the soil and water conservation needs of the people of Arkansas.

What is a Conservation District?
Conservation districts are political subdivisions of the State of Arkansas. They are a creation of popular vote of resident landowners for the purpose of conserving our land and water resources as authorized by Act No. 197 of the Arkansas General Assembly of 1937; the Nation's first conservation district law.

Conservation districts are local governments at work and their specific responsibility is management of our soil and water resources. The idea behind their formation is to keep decision making on soil and water conservation matters at the local level. Each district is governed by a board of five directors who serve without pay. Two directors are appointed by the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission and three are elected by resident landowners. 


Contact Jackson County Conservation District

Contact Jackson County Conservation District

2115 Malcolm Avenue
Newport, Arkansas  72112-3631
Phone: (870) 523-8986
Fax: (870) 523-9951


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Jackson County, Arkansas

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator
Related Success Stories for Jackson County Conservation District

Rice Creek & Battle Creek Watersheds
A project to coordinate resources from all levels of government and non-profit organizations for the common goal of reducing point and non-point water pollution.