Kern County Fire Departmentupdated: February 2012

The Kern County Fire Department (KCFD) is an organization comprised of over 625 permanent employees protecting an area which spans over 8,000 square miles.
We provide fire protection services for over 500,000 citizens living in the unincorporated areas of Kern County and the cities of Arvin, Delano, Maricopa, McFarland, Ridgecrest, Shafter, Taft, Tehachapi and Wasco. Over 546 uniformed firefighters are stationed in 46 fire stations throughout Kern County. Added to this, the Kern County Fire Department has 14 Mutual Aid Agreements with neighboring fire suppression organizations to further strengthen the emergency services available to our customers.

Find your local Fire Station

Kern Fire Plan

The Kern County Fire Department Wildland Fire Management Plan documents the assessment of the wildland fire situation throughout the State Responsibility Area (SRA) within the county. It includes stakeholder contributions and priorities, and identifies strategic targets for pre-fire solutions as defined by the people who live and work with the local fire problem.

The goal of the Plan is to reduce costs and losses from wildfire by protecting assets at risk through focused pre-fire management prescriptions and increasing initial attack success.

Kern County 2011 Fire Plan Size
(1.8M PDF)
(79K PDF)
(129K PDF)
(223K PDF)
(264K PDF)
(137K PDF)
(162K PDF)
(328K PDF)
(646K PDF)
(159K PDF)
(131K PDF)
(175K PDF)
(103K PDF)
(802K PDF)

Contact Kern County Fire Department

5642 Victor Street
Bakersfield, California  93308
Phone: 661-391-7000
Fax: 661-399-2915


Service Area

Services provided in:
  • Kern County, California

To request additions or corrections to this entry email the Administrator